Confession

This is the third day in a month-long series where I will be writing on the topic of “Setting My Sights.” First and foremost, I’m seeking to set my sights on God and then start to wade through my thoughts, hopes, and whispers with the Father to find his plans for me and what in this world I should be setting my sights on.

Today, I want to make a confession. Let me tell you that this confession is just one of many I have to make, and we’ll see if I feel moved to make any more in this series… Just let it be known that this is not my only fault, just one that I feel the Father telling me I need to hurdle over and deal with before I will be seeing any fruit come of this current endeavor.

So here it is: I can’t watch romantic comedies or commercials with gushy love scenes. I can’t see cuteness. I can’t see other people happy and loving like that.

Or rather, I can, but I don’t want to. I don’t want to because it makes me angry and jealous. I don’t have that so I don’t want to see it and see that it exists for others.

But I know that if I want to set my sights on what God wants for me, I need to change this attitude. I want to set an attitude goal for myself. When I see someone with a happiness and love like I don’t have, I will actively wish them well and be happy for them, because I believe that my Father will give me that love as well. I can’t expect God to give me the change and renewal I yearn for while I have anger, hate, or jealousy to any degree in my heart for others that have been blessed.

Luke 16:10 He who is faithful in what is least is faithful also in much; and he who is unjust in what is least is unjust also in much.

Proverbs 14:1 The wise woman builds her house,
But the foolish pulls it down with her hands.

It’s time to invest everything in the life I have, and give nothing towards negativity toward what others have. It’s time to be faithful with this life and my love, because whatever I try to convince myself, my Lord has told me if I can’t be faithful with this, I won’t be faithful with anything better. That’s what I feel the Lord is putting on my heart, and I feel that until I conquer this battle with myself, I’m not going to see any growth.

Thanks friends; would love to hear if anyone has any similar insights or feelings.

Leave a Reply

