Right Now I’m

UPDATING: There have been so many changes in my life recently, and I had hoped to blog about each of them individually. But, in the midst of all those changes, it was hard for me to find time to write, and now so much is different that I thought I’d do a little run-through.

 

Living: In our first home! In May, my husband and I bought our first home. We bought it on a Wednesday, moved in that weekend, and had my family staying with us the very next week! They came from Minnesota for a week because I graduated from Kenyon College on May 17! Zeke’s mom and his little siblings came down from Maine as well, and I was HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY. Time amongst a lot of family is like life-water for me. It refreshes and revives me and shows me a reason to keep going. I wish I could see them all on the daily, but luckily I’ve got plenty more new things going on…

Sitting in the "Upside Down Tree" at my college after graduating

Sitting in the “Upside Down Tree” at my college after graduating

My family and I at "The Gates of Hell" in Kenyon College

My family and I at “The Gates of Hell” in Kenyon College

My graduation and housewarming party shortly after moving in to my first home!

My graduation and housewarming party shortly after moving in to my first home!

 

My husband playing violin with his sisters (and his mother holding the music for them) at our first party in our home

My husband playing violin with his sisters (and his mother holding the music for them) at our first party in our home

Teaching: Yes, PRAISE THE LORD, I got a teaching job. I am now teaching at a learning center in a really nice suburb area out of Dayton. I started just a few days after graduating, so I’ve been working there for a month now, and I LOVE IT. I am teaching the entire elementary school age range (from five to twelve-years-old) and taking them on field trips almost everyday during the summer. During school months, I spend time with pre-K kids and then my kids after school. It’s basically a super-evolved daycare. I’ve already found such a family in the ladies I’m working with and couldn’t be any happier with what I’m doing. I told my husband yesterday that during the weekends, I start to miss the kids and can’t wait to see them again Monday. I am very blessed to be doing what I’m doing.

 

Reading: Between taking the kids to an area library every week and getting them involved in summer reading programs and starting my own adult habits and rhythms, I have been trying to get back into pleasure reading. During college, there was absolutely no time, because I was constantly reading for class. Then, it seemed in breaks, I was often recovering from how much reading I did during school. Now, that rhythm and season is a thing the past so I’m starting to get back into the swing of reading for myself—for my own enjoyment and edification. For my first book, I chose The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling, and I’m just starting to get into it at 150 pages. It’s a slow start to my new routine, but I think I am going to try to stick this book through and hope for better luck next time. If anyone is reading this and has a good book suggestion, please share in the comments!

 

Learning: to SCUBA DIVE! When I was studying in Jordan, my brother came to visit me and his family there, and we went scuba diving in Aqaba. It was one of my all-time favorite experiences ever! Ever since, I have wanted to get really good at it or at least continue. Well, my husband just suggested we get certified, and I had happened to see a poster advertising a free opportunity to try it out with the Southern Ohio Diving Academy. I am thrilled we’re going to try it and hope we go all the way! It’s one of my dreams to go scuba diving on a beach vacation somewhere. I can’t wait to learn more and try out my passion with my hubby!

 

At Mr. Frogman Dive Center in Aqaba, Jordan

At Mr. Frogman Dive Center in Aqaba, Jordan

169966_4398767800064_250032358_o

51726_4394700018372_1400162726_o

Scuba diving with my bro was my favorite memory from my time in Jordan.

Scuba diving with my bro is my favorite memory from my time in Jordan.

Cooking: Roasted Okra! I’ve been trying to buy more fruits and veggies when grocery shopping for the husband and I. I didn’t know he doesn’t like okra, and they were just calling out to me at the store when I saw them. Okra is one of those things I can’t get enough. It’s a main ingredient in my favorite Arabic dish, Bamia, but now that I’m not studying abroad or living near any of my Arab family, I have been without. So, today, I’m trying out this recipe for roasted okra and hoping for a yummy, not too guilty snack. I just popped them in the oven, and I’ve got to tell you, I already had a few before they even got there!

Leave a Reply

