Forward on the Faith

My Resolution Bible study ended with the summer, and unfortunately I had to miss a few days because of my new job.  Now that it is over, I am looking for ways to stay fully committed to keeping in the word and learning more about how to be the Godly woman I want to be.

One of the new things I learned to do in my Resolution study was to memorize verses.  It wasn’t completely easy for me because I have never in my life done it, but now it is something I want to continue doing tenfold.  My husband happens to be a whiz at memorizing verses because he was raised doing it.  I think it’s awesome that he was given that stronghold as a child, but I hope to think about ways to keep the scriptures tucked in the children’s hearts as much as memorized in their minds before it comes time for me to have my children memorizing scripture.

For now, it’s my turn to grow in this area.  These are the scriptures I have learned to memorize from the Resolution study, and I am resolved to keep them fresh in my memory.  From here, I want to expand my base while really keeping these actually memorized and not just learned for a short period of time.

Philippians 4:11 Not that I speak in respect of want, for I have learn in whatsoever state I am therewith to be content.

Jeremiah 1:5 Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee, and before thou camest forth out of the womb, I sanctified thee and made thee a prophet unto the nations.

Luke 16:10 He that is faithful in that which is least is faithful also in much, and he that is unjust in the least is unjust also in much.

Hebrews 12:14-15 Follow peace with all men and holiness, without which no man shall see the Lord: Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God, lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled.

Proverbs 15:1 A soft answer turneth away wrath, but grievous words stir up anger.

Proverbs 14:1 Every wise woman buildeth her house; but the foolish plucketh it down with her hands.

3 John 1:4 I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.

Proverbs 10:8 The wise in heart will receive commands: but a prating fool shall fall.

Psalm 101:3 I shall set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

Joshua 4: 22, 24 Then ye shall let your children know, saying Israel came over this Jordan on dry land.  That all the people of the earth might know the hand of the Lord, that it is mighty that ye might fear the Lord your God forever.

Those are all the Resolution verses.  Now, I am starting on a few that I am familiar with but want to secure in my heart and know their exact place.  They are:

Micah 6:8 He hath shewed thee, O man, what is good; and what doth the LORD require of thee, but to do justly, and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with thy God?

Psalm 67:1 God be merciful unto us, and bless us; and cause his face to shine upon us.

Wish me luck, and pray for me in my faith endeavors!  And hold me accountable?  As followers in Christ, we’re in this together.  

Grace and Peace!

Tyann

Leave a Reply

